

# Minutes of Seventh Annual General Meeting Cranfield Australian Alumni Scholarship Foundation (CAASF)

Registration No. A0051094F ABN 26 714 951 874

Registered Office: Level 4, 395 Collins Street, Melbourne, 3000, Victoria

Held: The Hotel Windsor, 99 Spring Street Melbourne

**Board Member** 

Date: 11 May 2015

Scheduled 1.30pm to 2.30pm AEST

PRESENT:

Stephen Williams President
Alex Chapman Vice President
Graham Baws Treasurer
Steve Wood Board Member
Philip Reid Board Member

John Hosie Member

Sarah Parrish Daniel George Mike Spark

**David Corkindale** 

**APOLOGIES:** 

John McFarlane Patron

Anna Baggoley Board Member
Mariee Durkin-Beech Board Member

#### AGENDA:

## 1. Meeting opened

With a quorum of more than five, President, Stephen Williams, opened the meeting at 1:32pm and welcomed all present.

## 2. Previous Minutes

The minutes of the previous AGM were approved as correct.

Motion to accept Minutes of sixth AGM 26 May 2014 | Proposed: Alex Chapman | Seconded: Steve Wood | Vote: Unanimous in favour

## 3. President's Report

Stephen Williams drew attention to the detailed President's Report published in the Annual Report for 2014. The summary and highlights include:

## CRANFIELD

- Significant progress by Sir Peter Gregson in strengthening the brand of Cranfield University as a leading University of Management and Technology.
- Prof Maury Peiperl has joined Cranfield School of Management as Dean.

#### THE SCHOLARSHIP

- 2015 will be our ninth scholarship with now fifteen beneficiaries of our efforts.
- The 2013 Scholar Daniel George (MBA 2014) will MC the 2015 award dinner this evening. The other 2013 finalist, Kevin Ha (MBA 2014) is working in UK.
- Again a thank you to Bronwyn Fulton for her support with the selection process.

## THE FOUNDATION

 We continue to reach out to organisations who can assist us in finding talented Australians for the Scholarship.

#### THE AUSTRALIAN ALUMNI

 Our efforts to find and include all alumni in Australia in our community continue and we now have almost 1000 alumni on our files.



# Minutes of Seventh Annual General Meeting Cranfield Australian Alumni Scholarship Foundation (CAASF)

Registration No. A0051094F ABN 26 714 951 874

Registered Office: Level 4, 395 Collins Street, Melbourne, 3000, Victoria

- This year the University has been actively supporting our efforts and we are honoured by the visit of Sir Peter Gregson and four senior faculty to the Award dinner this evening.
- Mariee Durkin Beech was awarded the McFarlane Dollar for her tireless behind-the-scenes work on alumni and Board activities and Bronwyn Fulton was awarded the President's Award for her commitment and effort supporting the selection process over the years.

#### BOARD MEMBERSHIP

 We welcomed our Inaugural Scholarship winner – Sarah Parrish to the Board as Queensland state representative in 2014.

Motion to accept the President's Report | Proposed: Alex Chapman | Seconded: Graham Baws | Vote: Unanimous in favour

## 4. Treasurer's Report

Graham Baws drew attention to the report on the finances as published in the 2014 Annual Report. The
highlights include conversion of the loans held on the balance sheet to donations. These loans were
made in the first two years of the Foundation.

Motion to accept the Treasurer's Report | Proposed: Alex Chapman | Seconded: Steve Wood | Vote: Unanimous in favour

#### 5. Election of Board members

- The contribution of all 2014 Board members to CAASF was acknowledged and all were thanked.
- John Hosie joined the Board as NSW representative to replace retiring Board Member Phil Reid who
  was thanked for his service.

Nominations to all Board positions were received as noted below. All Board positions were unchallenged and approved unanimously.

All members appointed to positions were welcomed to the Board by the President.

		Proposed	Seconded
President	Stephen Williams	Alex Chapman	Graham Baws
Vice President	Alex Chapman	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws
Treasurer & Secretary	Graham Baws	Alex Chapman	Stephen Williams
Board Member (NSW)	John Hosie	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws
Board Member (QLD)	Sarah Parrish	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws
Board Member (SA)	David Corkindale	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws
Board Member (VIC)	Steve Wood	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws
Board Member (OS)	Anna Baggoley	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws
Board Member	Mariee Durkin-Beech	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws

#### 6. Any other Business

There was no other business

## 7. Meeting closed

President, Stephen Williams thanked all present for supporting CAASF by making the time to attend today.

Meeting closed at 2.06pm.

Graham Baws
Treasurer & Secretary CAASF

Date: 11 May 2015