

Held:	The Langham, 89-113 Kent Street, Millers Point, Sydney
Date:	9 May 2016
Scheduled	4.00pm to 5.00pm AEST

PRESENT:

Stephen Williams	President
Alex Chapman	Vice President & Secretary
Graham Baws	Treasurer
Steve Wood	Board Member
John Hosie	Board Member
Mariee Durkin-Beech	Board Member
Clyde McConaghy	Member
Peter Cox	Member
Peter Livesy	Member
Hassam Zaman	Member

APOLOGIES:

John McFarlane	Patron	
Anna Baggoley	Board Member	
Sarah Parrish	Board Member	
Daniel George	Member	
Anna Maree Shaw	Member	
Phil Reid	Member	
David Corkindale	Board Member	

AGENDA:

1. Meeting opened

With a quorum of more than five, President, Stephen Williams, opened the meeting at 4:10pm and welcomed all present.

2. Previous Minutes

The minutes of the previous AGM were approved as correct.

Motion to accept Minutes of seventh AGM 11 May 2015 | Proposed: Graham Baws | Seconded: Mariee Durkin-Beech | Vote: Unanimous in favour

3. President's Report

Stephen Williams drew attention to the detailed President's Report published in the Annual Report for 2015. The summary and highlights include:

THE FOUNDATION

- The Foundation's measure of success sourcing then choosing the right candidates, engaging with alumni, having alumni want to fund the Scholarship and having beneficiaries commit their time and money.
- The alumni continue to funding the cash component of the winner's Scholarship.



 To ensure the Foundation's longevity it is essential that beneficiaries commit to it with both their time and cash. The Board has increased awareness over the years to winners and finalists of the expectation to commit to "pay it forward".

THE SCHOLARSHIP

- 2016 is our tenth scholarship with now eighteen beneficiaries of our efforts.
- Our Scholarship is the most valuable on offer in Australia. Beneficiaries receive either full (the winner) or partial tuition (finalist/s) from Cranfield. The cash component is offered by the Foundation. It has changed to be as much as we can raise each year rather than a fixed amount.
- The applicant selection process structure and marking has evolved over 10 years. Kim Parish thank you, Kim - ably leads a rigorous process with a standardised scoring process so we can now compare candidates - current and past.

CRANFIELD

 Sir Peter Gregson is committed to re-engage with Alumni. In 2014 he sent a personalised video message to play at our Award dinner and in 2015 personally attended our Award dinner during his Australian tour. Prof Maury Peiperl, Cranfield School of Management Dean, met with Alumni on his visit to Australia in 2015.

THE AUSTRALIAN ALUMNI

- The Board is aware of the importance of alumni engagement. At this, our 10 year point, the Board is asking questions about what we do and what we should do going forward.
- The Scholarship acts as a catalyst for alumni engagement. The Alumni community in Australia consists of about 1,000 alumni from all Schools of Cranfield University.
- John Hosie was awarded the President's Award in recognition of his work establishing The Cranfield Trust in Australia. Cris Saudella and Isobel Kettle from Cranfield were jointly awarded the McFarlane Dollar in acknowledgement of their outstanding help and support for our efforts here in Australia.

Motion to accept the President's Report | Proposed: John Hosie | Seconded: Steve Wood | Vote: Unanimous in favour

4. Treasurer's Report

- Graham Baws drew attention to the report on the finances as published in the 2015 Annual Report. The year's result was a small loss. In 2014 donations were larger as the loans held on the balance sheet were converted to donations. Support from Cranfield cover costs associated with applicant interviews as well as some event costs such as printing and photography.
- Funds- it is neither practical nor comfortable to work from hand to mouth. In raising funds, our aim will be to generate passive income from a fund of say, \$100,000. This could be achieved if the corporate sector is approached and past beneficiaries continue to be encourages to "pay it forward". Another crucial facor is our ability to gain tax deductible status for donations.

Motion to accept the Treasurer's Report | Proposed: Steven Williams | Seconded: Steve Wood | Vote: Unanimous in favour

5. Election of Board members

- The contribution of all 2015 Board members to CAASF was acknowledged and all were thanked.
- Retiring Board members are: Stephen Williams President, John Hosie NSW representative, Sarah Parrish - QLD representative and Anna Baggoley – UK/overseas representative. All were thanked for their service.
- Joining the Board are: Clyde McConaghy as President, Anna Maree Shaw as QLD representative and Daniel George as UK/overseas representative.



Cocondod

Nominations to all Board positions were received as noted below. All Board positions were unchallenged and approved unanimously.

Dranaad

• All members appointed to positions were welcomed to the Board by the President.

		Proposea	Seconded
President	Clyde McConaghy	Alex Chapman	Steve Wood
Vice President	Alex Chapman	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws
Treasurer & Secretary	Graham Baws	Alex Chapman	Stephen Williams
Board Member (NSW)	vacant	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws
Board Member (QLD)	Anna Maree Shaw	Alex Chapman	Graham Baws
Board Member (SA)	David Corkindale	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws
Board Member (VIC)	Steve Wood	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws
Board Member (OS)	Daniel George	Alex Chapman	Graham Baws
Board Member	Mariee Durkin-Beech	Stephen Williams	Graham Baws

6. Change to constitution

(a) Alter the term of the President to be 3 consecutive years.

(b) Allow Treasurer to facilitate payments from bank account with just one signature once the payment is actually authorised. Currently payment requires two signatures and this is impractical with the Treasurer in Perth.

Motion to accept the constitutional changes| Proposed: Alex Chapman | Seconded: John Hosie | Vote: Unanimous in favour

7. Any other Business

There was no other business

8. Meeting closed

Incoming President Clyde McConaghy thanked all present for supporting CAASF by making the time to attend today.

Meeting closed at 5.31pm.

Graham Baws Treasurer & Secretary CAASF Date: 9 May 2016